VisibleBlue

Egg-Free No-Cook Cinnamon Roll Ice Cream March 22, 2013

Filed under: Food — VisibleBlue @ 1:41 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Cinnamon Roll Ice Cream

A few months ago, my husband got me an ice cream maker attachment for my Kitchenaid stand mixer. Since that time, I’ve made a number of tasty ice creams, but none have been so easy with such good results as this one – described to me as “Cinnabon in ice cream form.” I served it with fresh apple crisp, but honestly, I think it’s better on its own. Maybe a smidge of caramel sauce, if you’re into that sort of thing. A few almonds wouldn’t hurt either. Without further ado, the recipe:

Cinnamon Roll Ice Cream

Makes about 1 quart

  • 1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk (chilled – I stuck mine in the freezer for about 20 minutes while I made the apple crisp)
  • 1 1/4 c whipping cream
  • 1  c whole milk
  • 1/4 c sugar (I used raw for a richer flavor)
  • pinch of Kosher salt
  • 1 t pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 t almond extract
  • 2 t ground cinnamon
  1. Add all the ingredients in a large bowl. Whisk rapidly to dissolve the sugar and salt.
  2. Freeze according to ice cream maker directions, 20 minutes or so.
  3. Transfer to sealed container to set in the freezer, at least 4 hours.

To be honest, I had pretty large granules of sugar at the bottom of my mixture and if you wanted to heat the milk separately and dissolve the sugar and salt, you could absolutely do that, but you would need to chill the mixture for several hours before churning. At that point, you might as well use eggs! My mantra for ice cream is (almost) the same as the one we repeat when brewing our own beer: “Relax. Don’t worry. Have a homebrew homechurn(?).” The ice cream turned out fine – creamy and rich – and I haven’t even once crunched on an un-dissolved sugar or salt crystal. It stays scoopable after freezing and has a lovely subtle buttery flavor that reminds me so much of my Mom’s cinnamon rolls!

 

Leave a Reply

